Each type of domestic animal in Minecraft has its own food. Below we show you exactly what each of the game’s animals eats.

  • Horse: golden apples, golden carrots, wheat, apples, sugar, bread and bales of hay
  • Sheep: wheat
  • Cow: wheat
  • Mooshroom: wheat
  • Pig: carrots, potatoes and beet
  • Hen: seeds
  • Tame wolf or dog: any kind of meat
  • Tame ocelot or cat: raw fish, raw salmon, clown fish and pufferfish
  • Rabbits: carrots, dandelions and golden carrots

Why is it important to feed animals in Minecraft

By using the animals’ food, you will be able to control breeding, mating and the birth of offspring. By feeding a couple with the same kind of food you will get them to have offspring, though you will have to wait a for a prudential period before getting new offspring. This way, little by little, you will be able to create your own farm, which will provide you with food and raw materials. This is a very important factor in the game, particularly in survival mode. Having a farm with animals, knowing what to feed them, and fomenting the birth of their young means having a very valuable resource in the game.

The animals will always follow you and when you take out their favorite kind of food they will follow you until you leave their radius of action or until you change the item you are holding. They don’t pay any attention to the food on the ground, only to the food that you hold in your hand. If you approach them with food that they can eat a Feed button will appear on the screen - press it and you will see how the animals exude hearts in gratitude.