When we use Facebook Messenger, the rest of the users, by default, can see if we are online or not. There is the possibility of hiding our status so no one knows if we are online. This setting is important if your goal is to increase your privacy within the social network.
To start, you must open the settings menu by tapping on your profile picture.
Once you are in the list of options, search for Active Status. Open the setting by tapping on it.Disable status
Disable the switch next to the statement Show when you´re active.Show others we are online
Immediately, your status will be hidden from the rest of the users of Facebook Messenger, and they will no longer be able to know if you are online or not. It is necessary to point out that by doing this, we will not be able to see the state of others either.
This may seem like enough, but the truth is that other users can continue to view your status from the main Facebook app. To deactivate it, open Facebook and tap on the menu of the three horizontal lines.Facebook’s menu
Then, at the bottom of the screen, you will find Settings & Privacy. Open the drop-down menu by tapping on it.Security and privacy settings
Now, tap on Settings.Facebook’s settings
In the list of options, search for Active Status.Active status options
Turn off the switch next to Show when you're active.Disable our status
Confirm the deactivation by tapping on Turn off.Confirm the disabling
Only by performing both processes, you are guaranteed that no one will see your status. To clarify: all these settings do not affect the sending and receiving of messages.