Difference between private, hidden, and public video on YouTube

YouTube has several statuses for the videos you upload. Each content can be defined as public or private. However, it is also possible to keep it hidden. Depending on the purpose for which you upload a video to the platform, you will be interested in defining one status or another. If you are not sure about them, in this article, we tell you the differences.

Public videos

First of all, let's talk about public videos. They are those that are available to everyone. By default, all contents are public. If you mark it this way, anyone, whether they have a YouTube account or not, will be able to view your video. In addition, it will appear in searches, can be shared on any social network, and be embedded in a website. Use the public video option when you want to get as many views as possible and when the content you share is of general interest.

Hidden videos

Secondly, we focus on hidden videos. These videos can only be viewed by users who have the link. Therefore, they are actually public videos that do not appear in searches. If you do not want wide dissemination of the content, you must share the link with people you trust. After all, hidden videos can also be distributed on networks very easily. This status is ideal for sharing private and exclusive content within a trusted circle.

Private videos

The last mode offered by YouTube is the private video mode. By marking content in this way, you will only be able to access it yourself and those people you choose. If you share a private video, you will need to invite the rest of the users via email. Your address must be associated with a Google account. Each time they wish to access the content, they must log in to YouTube with their credentials.