How to remove a user account from Windows 10

To delete a user account in Windows 10, you must use the system settings application. To do this, open the start menu and click on the cogwheel.

Open the Windows 10 configurationOpen the Windows 10 configuration

Access the Accounts section to see the options related to user accounts.

Account and family sectionAccount and family section

On the right side of the window, choose the Family & other users section.

Other users sectionOther users section

Select a user account and click on the Remove button to start deleting the account.

Remove an accountRemove an account

In the pop-up window, confirm that you want to delete the account with the Delete account and data button.

Confirm the removal of an accountConfirm the removal of an account

This process will delete all user data. Therefore, you should make sure that the account owner has backed up any photos, documents, downloads, or other files before you confirm.

However, in Windows 10, there is still an alternative method of preserving the information of others. To access this method, you must use the control panel. In this case, use the Windows search and type control panel. Select the first result.

Open the control panelOpen the control panel

Open the User Accounts section.

User accounts sectionUser accounts section

Select the Remove user accounts option.

Remove user accountRemove user account

Choose the account you want to delete and click on it.

Select the account from the control panelSelect the account from the control panel

Click on the Delete the account option.

Remove the account from the control panelRemove the account from the control panel

In the next step, you can choose to either delete all the data for that user or keep it. Use Delete files to delete all your information and Keep files to save it. In the second case, your documents will be moved to your desk. Please, note that this does not include the configuration of installed applications, such as email accounts.

Keep the filesKeep the files

Confirm the account deletion with Delete account.

Confirm removal of the accountConfirm removal of the account

In its effort to make the control panel disappear, Microsoft is moving all these settings to the configuration application. The latter method is likely to become obsolete soon. Also, remember that to delete the user of another person, you must have administrator privileges.