In Instagram we’ve got the possibility to decide whether we want to show our activity status or not within our direct message section. To turn this option off, we simply have to follow this list of steps:
- Step 1: access your direct messages from the main screen of the user interface. To do so, tap on the paper plane shaped icon that will take you to your chats and where you can view the activity status of each participant. If so, that means that the option Show activity status is turned on.
- Step 2: then go back to your profile and tap on the button with three dots in the upper right corner of the interface in order to access the options screen.
- Step 3: scroll down through the menu until you get to the Show activity status option. Simply turn off the switch next to it.
Now no users will be able to know if you’re on Instagram at that moment or not, and neither will your latest connection time be shown. However, remember that if you disable this option you neither will be able to view the activity status of other users… you’ll only be able to see that information regarding the messages you sent or received privately through the chat.
These settings have to do with the growing demand on behalf of the users of many instant messaging and chat services to gain greater control over their privacy, deciding by themselves what information about their activities they wish to share with other users.